Meal Prepping & Margaritas

When food is at the center of your life and you are a meticulous, self-critical Virgo with OCD tendencies, not having time to meal prep for a crazy week is like being thrown into hell doused in gasoline. Ok, I am exaggerating a bit but I really, really dislike not having time to properly prepare a meal plan for the week.

My meal planning includes all breakfasts, lunches, and dinners for three people and sometimes more depending on the week. I love this stuff. It’s my thing and I enjoy the creative outlet that comes with planning, shopping and preparing nourishing food.

This week I failed. I just failed at Mom life. This is the self-critical part of me talking but I really threw this week away. We had too much fun over the weekend with family parties and when Monday rolled around I realized I had nothing planned and not much in the fridge. My kids had to resort to “hot lunch” (gasp)! I imagined a pasty bun holding together mystery meat and white cartons of puss filled milk. I was horrified and I didn’t even have to eat the stuff, they did. It threw my whole day off and I vowed never to repeat another Monday like that again.

If I could turn back time this would have been  what the beginning of our week tasted like.

♥MONDAY ♥

Breakfast: Fruit, chia coconut pudding topped with pecans, chlorella water (+Coffee for Mom)

Lunch: Spinach salad with pepitas and chickpeas, cinnamon tossed apples , kind bar, water with cucumber

Dinner: Tostadas with frijoles, chopped raw spinach, cilantro crema (cashew based), pickled onions and salsa, kombucha to drink

After Dinner Snack: Fresh Popped Corn (Organic Always – Say No To GMO) Sprinkled with Nutritional Yeast 

♥TUESDAY♥

Breakfast: Fruit, coconut chia pudding, chlorella water (+Coffee for Mom)

Lunch: Carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes and pita crackers with hummus, kind bar, mango kebabs sprinkled with tajin, water with Lemon 

Dinner: Steamed wild rice and quinoa with sautéed veggies, water to drink

After Dinner Treat: Sliced bananas with a dollop of peanut butter and homemade peach jam

 

♥WEDNESDAY♥

(My kid free day – AKA Spicy Margarita Marathon Day)

img_4582

This post was inspired by several people who have asked me to help them with meal plans. I haven’t had a lot of time to devote to adult meal plans but I’m working on it!  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

