Lentil Salad with a Sweet Mustard Vinaigrette

IMG_6727

Fall is here but it’s still warm and sunny in San Francisco. My nenes are excelling in school┬áand I’m hard at work in the kitchen and at my new job. I recently┬ámade the transition from nonprofit management into a whole new industry.┬áI’m now working for an┬áorganic farm in the Bay Area. I spend my days bringing chefs┬ásamples of delicious microgreens and heirloom lettuces. When I’m not with chefs,┬áI’m reading menus, researching┬ádining trends and eating and mingling at food and wine events.┬áNeedless to say, I feel like I’m indulging in my favorite hobby and now I get paid┬áto do it. It’s been a dream job in so many ways.

Now that I have found my work flow, I’m making my way back to┬áthe kitchen. This weekend I was inspired to make something completely new. My guide was a┬áfaint memory of a dish I had some time ago at a cafe in Sausalito. It turned out absolutely delicious, filling and refreshing. My┬áfirst taste tester said, “It’s a sassy bite of crunchy fresh goodness. A meal in itself.” I loved the sassy part lol!

Lentils are the star in this dish. This super food has so many health benefits. Lentils are high in protein and fiber making you feel satiated for longer periods of time. I love them because they are faster to cook than beans and I can add them to almost any dish for a punch of plant based protein. I use sprouted lentils whenever possible because they have a higher nutrient content as a result of the increased seed. Their nutrient bioavailability makes it easier for our bodies to absorb the protein, vitamins and minerals.

IMG_6703IMG_6706IMG_6721

Ingredients

3 Cups of Cooked Lentils

1 Purple Onion Thinly Sliced

I Bunch of Green Onions Chopped

1 Small Purple Cabbage Head Shredded

2 Cups of Mixed Fresh Herbs

Salt

Sweet Mustard Vinaigrette 

2 Tablespoons of Sweet Mustard

2 Tablespoons of Spicy Mustard

1/4 Tablespoons of Red Wine Vinaigrette

2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil or Coconut Oil

2 Garlic Cloves Grated

Salt and Pepper

Directions

IMG_6719Boil the lentils according to the directions on the bag. It’s usually three cups of water for one cup of lentils. Let the lentils cool all the way before tossing the salad. You will spend most of your time chopping vegetables which I happen to find very meditative. I hope you do too. I used a mandoline for the cabbage and red onion┬áto save┬átime and create consistency. Please do whatever works for you and always adjust the recipe to suit your taste buds. After all ingredients are prepped,┬ácombine in a large bowl, toss and set aside. Whisk together ingredients for the mustard vinaigrette and adjust as needed. Dress the salad right before serving for freshness.

Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tamara Alvarad says:

    This sounds delicious and I want to try it. I have some black lentils at home and I will challenge myself to make it this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

